Most Sustainable and Eco-friendly Schools of 2013 – Philippines

Philippines – The Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) recognized nine schools as the country’s most sustainable and Eco-Friendly Schools of 2013. Visayas State University (VSU)  was named the most eco-friendly university. Three schools were awarded in each category – Elementary, High school and College category.

Most Sustainable and Eco-friendly Schools of 2013 - Philippines

Visayas State University (VSU) – 2013 Most Sustainable and Eco-Friendly University in the Philippines.
In Photo: Plaque received by VSU President, Dr. Jose L. Bacusmo, and Dr. Maria Juliet C. Ceniza, former Director of the Institute of Tropical Ecology
image: EcoFriendlySchoolsPhilippines

The winners  were selected among 46 public and private schools that made it through regional eliminations and competed for the National championships. The National Search for Sustainable and Eco-Friendly Schools is a joint initiative of the DENR with the Environmental Management Bureau (EMB), the Department of Education (DepEd), Commission on Higher Education (CHED).

The program was also supported by some private sectors  – Smart Communications, Nestle Philippines, One Meralco Foundation , Petron Foundation and Unilever Philippines, in line with their respective environmental programs as well.

“We are overwhelmed with the positive response of the schools whenever we conduct and passion in implementing their eco-friendly programs. It is really inspiring to see students work together to achieve a cleaner and healthier environment,” DENR Secretary, Paje said.


In this article: 2013 Grand Winners2013 Regional WinnersPrevious Winners – 2011Previous Winners – 2009

2013 Most Sustainable and Eco-friendly Schools National Winners

Elementary School Category

First Place:
DUBINAN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL – Plaridel, Santiago City (Region 2 – Cagayan Valley)

Second Place:

Third Place:
KIBAWE CENTRAL SCHOOL – Kibawe, Bukidnon (Region 10 – Northern Mindanao)

High School Category

First Place:
ATENEO DE DAVAO UNIVERSITY-HIGH SCHOOL  – Matina, Davao City (Region 11 – Davao Region)

Second Place:
DOÑA REMEDIOS TRINIDAD HIGH SCHOOL  – Doña Remedios Trinidad, Bulacan (Region 3 – Central Luzon)

Third Place:
DIADI NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL – Diadi, Nueva Vizcaya (Region 2 – Cagayan Valley)

College Category

First Place:
VISAYAS STATE UNIVERSITY – VisCa, Baybay City, Leyte (Region 8 – Eastern Visayas)

Second Place:
MIRIAM COLLEGE – Katipunan Avenue, Quezon City (National Capital Region)

Third Place:
ATENEO DE MANILA UNIVERSITY – Loyola Heights, Quezon City (National Capital Region)

The National Grand Winners were announced last November 20, 2013. These are the third set of schools awarded as most sustainable and Eco-friendly schools in the country, since the program was launched in 2009, as a response to Republic Act 9512, also known as the Environmental Awareness and Education Act of 2008.

Checkout the school’s entries in National Search for Sustainable and Eco-Friendly Schools’ facebook page.

The current program trend is from 2009, 2011, 2013, next will be on 2015. They did not make it a yearly event to give the institutions enough time to improve their environmental programs.

2013 Regional level champions (Qualified for national championships)

(Elementary school category)
Commonwealth Elementary School, Quezon City; Flora Elementary School, Apayao Province; Salcedo Central School, Ilocos Sur; Dubinan Elementary
School, Santiago City; San Ildefonso Elementary School, Bulacan; Maduya Elementary School, Cavite; Adriatico Central School in Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro; Ara-al Elementary School, La Carlota City, Negros Occidental; Simeon Ayuda Elementary School, Liloan, Cebu; Lomonon Elementary School, Palompon, Leyte; Ayala Central School, Zamboanga City; Kibawe Central School, Bukidnon; Doña Asuncion Hizon Elementary School, Davao City; Koronadal Central Elementary School II, Koronadal City, South Cotabato; and Father Saturnino Urios University- Elementary School Unit, Butuan City.

(High school category)
Parang High School, Marikina City; Cagubatan National High School, Tadian, Mountain Province; Don Salustiano Aquino Memorial National High School, Piddig, Ilocos Norte; Diadi National High School, Nueva Vizcaya; Doña Remedios Trinidad High School, Bulacan; Pedro Guevara Memorial National High School, Sta. Cruz, Laguna; Oriental Mindoro National High School (formerly known as Jose J. Leido, Jr. Memorial National High School), Calapan City; Magallanes National Vocational High School, Sorsogon; Tubungan National High School, Iloilo Province; Don Geronimo B. Zaldivar Memorial School of Fisheries, Albuera, Leyte; Manukan National High School, Zamboanga Del Norte; Bukidnon National High School, Malaybalay City; Ateneo De Davao University-High School, Davao City; Marbel 7 National High School, Koronadal City, South Cotabato; and Agusan Del Sur National High School, San Francisco.

(College Category)
Ateneo De Manila University, Loyola Heights, Quezon City; Miriam College, Katipunan Avenue, Quezon City; Saint Louis University, Baguio City; Don Mariano
Marcos State University-North La Union Campus, Bacnotan, La Union; University of La Salette, Santiago City; Pampanga Agricultural College, Magalang, Pampanga; Batangas State University, Batangas City; Western Philippines University, Aborlan, Palawan; Central Bicol State University of Agriculture, Pili, Camarines Sur; Aklan State University, Banga; Foundation University, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental; Visayas State University, Baybay City, Leyte; Central Mindanao University, Bukidnon; Davao Doctors College, Davao City; Notre Dame of Marbel University, Koronadal City, South Cotabato; and Caraga State University, Butuan City.

Previous Winners (2009, 2011)

2009 , National Search for Sustainable and Eco-Friendly Schools winners

(Elementary Category)
First prize – Penablanca East Central School, Aggugaddan-Malibabag, Penablanca, Cagayan;
Second prize – North Central Elementary School, Bonuan Gueset, Dagupan City, Pangasinan; and
Third prize – Badas Elementary School, Badas, Placer, Surigao del Norte.
(High school category)
First place – La Castellana National High School, La Castellana, Negros Occidental;
Second place – Camarines Sur National High School, Naga City, Camarines Sur; and
Third place- Daniel R. Aguinaldo National High School, Matina, Davao City.
(College category)
First place – Palawan State University, Puerto Princesa City, Palawan;
Second place – Visayas State University, Baybay, Leyte; and
Third place – Catanduanes State Colleges, Virac, Catanduanes.

2011, National Search for Sustainable and Eco-Friendly Schools winners

(Elementary Category)
First place – Iliranan Elementary School, San Carlos City, Negros Occidental;
Second place – Kibawe Central Schol, Kibawe, Bukidnon; and
Third place – San Mariano Elementary School, Roxas, Oriental Mindoro.
(High school)
First place – Camarines Sur National High School, Naga City, Camarines Sur;
Second place – University of San Jose Recoletos-High School, Basak, Pardo, Cebu City; and
Third place – Daniel R. Aguinaldo National High School, Matina, Davao City.
(College category)
First place – De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, Cavite;
Second place – Palawan State University, Puerto Princesa City; and
Third place – Ateneo De Manila University, Loyola Heights, Quezon City.

sources: emb

Page optimized by WP Minify WordPress Plugin